31st Annual Golf Classic – A Hole in One for Orchard Village

Golf committee co-chair Jake Goldstein with Shawn B., OV participant at the golf outing.

The sun shined and faces smiled as golfers arrived at the beautiful Westmoreland Country Club for Orchard Village’s 31st Annual Golf Classic on August 8th. The day started with a putting clinic held by our Day Program Coordinator Dan Leonard with assistance from Denise P., who has been learning golf as part of the therapeutic recreation program. Soon after, golfers enjoyed a bloody Mary bar and delicious buffet lunch followed by a noon shotgun start. Out on the course, Ross Smith was the winner of our jackpot birdie prize.  J.P. Bitting won the Golden Ticket prize of a fabulous vacation from the choice of four possible trips. After a gourmet dinner, the golfers helped raise more than $88,000 to benefit people with developmental disabilities. The funds raised help empower people like Shawn (pictured, right) to live their best lives as active, contributing members of their communities! Want to be more involved? Contact Joseph Like at 847.583.7734 to join next year’s committee or become an event sponsor.

Click here to enjoy some photos from the outing, taken by our wonderful volunteer photographer Dorothy Perry of Perry Portrait Art.


Congratulations to the following winners:

Closest to the Pin: Gene Graham

Men’s Longest Drive: Mike Leong

Women’s Longest Drive : Eva Rogers

Longest Putt: Doug Saunders

First Lowest Scoring Twosome: Steve Lewis & Rich Goldstein

Second Lowest Scoring Twosome: Adam Freeman & Thomas Bretz

Foursome First Place: CIBC

Jake Goldstein

Casey Krapfl

Andrew Fleming

Glen Geist

Foursome Second Place: 5th Third Bank

Mike Leong

Michael Dworianyn

Michael Cortese

Eva Rogers


Thank You to Our Foursome Captains:

JMB Insurance

Stephen Green

Fifth Third Bank

Corey Noland


Paul O’Connor

BMO Harris

Joseph Birkenheier

Michael Pelletier

Arnie Freeman

StorSafe Storage

Chapman & Cutler

Morgan Stanley

Steve Witz


Hanson Roofing, Inc.

Thank You to Our Volunteers

Olga Childers

Mike Cusick

Susan Kaufman

Sue Hanover

Marlene Hodges

Theresa Kopitzke

Dan Leonard

Joe Like

Skyla McKim

Julia Morrow

Lyndsay Mosser

Kasey Mills Ornelas

Shawn B.

Brad S.

Denise P.



Thank You to Our Sponsors